JavaScript is disabled or not supported! MCC Student Athlete Recognized with Service Award
Close Pop-upClose Pop-up

MCC News

MCC Student Athlete Recognized with Service Award

Female with basketball

MISSOULA, MONTANA: Montana Campus Compact (MTCC), a seventeen-campus higher education network that includes Miles Community College, honored student-athletes from across the state of Montana for their outstanding community service work at the November 18th Brawl of the Wild Football Game in Missoula.

Each year MTCC recognizes one student-athlete from each affiliate campus with the Montana Athlete in Service Award. These students have dedicated their efforts to serving the community while also pursuing their college degrees/certificates and participating in college sports.

Representing Miles Community College on the list of recipients is Tyann Graham from Glasgow, Montana. Graham serves as the President of the Student Athletic Advisory Committee at the college, Resident Assistant in the on-campus residence halls, and member of the Women’s Pioneer Basketball team.

Community service comes second nature to Graham. She mentored elementary-aged children and provided opportunities for them to read, learn the alphabet, and do crafts, as well as offering assistance with editing papers, all while in high school. Graham also participated in senior citizen activities, clean-up day, and free throw contests for children in her hometown of Glasgow.

“Community service is really important,” stated Graham. “It’s really important to stay active and present in the community, especially at my age.”

Graham has logged hours of community service at MCC as well where she has assisted in activities such as Fall Carnival Night, Special Olympics, and basketball camps held for area school-aged children. She, along with her teammates, have also spent time at the local hospital where they played bingo with residents in the senior living facility.

“Tyann is a positive role model and leader on campus,” said MCC Women’s Basketball Head Coach Jenna Bolstad. “I am proud of her and her demonstrated selflessness to go out of her way to help others, whether on our campus, in our community (of Miles City), or back home in Glasgow!”

Graham stays busy with both school and basketball, as she works towards her Small Business Management degree this spring, in addition to certificates in accounting and graphic design. “I really like the small community at MCC,” stated Graham. “There are so many opportunities to volunteer and help at the college-life skills I can definitely use in the future.”

“Tyann is someone I know I can count on to lead our students and the residence halls,” commented Jessica Lofland, coordinator of student life and college housing on campus. “She is dependable, hard-working, and creative. She is always the first person to volunteer when we need help throughout campus or to step up in tough situations. I couldn’t ask for better qualities in a resident assistant, and I am glad Tyann is a part of our team.”

“I am very honored to win this service award!” said Graham.

For 29 years, Montana Campus Compact and its affiliate campuses have supported students, faculty, and communities across Montana with programs that encourage and recognize community service. Montana Campus Compact and the State of Montana are proud to honor the athletes whose extensive volunteer efforts have been of great benefit to their communities.

2023 Montana Athletes in Service Award Honorees

  • Tyann Graham - Miles Community College - Women's Basketball
  • Jaylee Azure - Fort Peck Community College - Basketball, Volleyball, Softball, Cross Country
  • Seth Buckman - Flathead Valley Community College - Logger Sports
  • Trajon Cotton - University of Montana – Football
  • Brynne Hitchcock - Montana State University - Alpine Skiing
  • Ben Held - Carroll College – Football
  • Sydney Hansen - MSU-Northern - Women's Basketball
  • Tanner Harrell - University of Montana Western - Football
  • Lexis Hogan - Little Big Horn College - Women's Basketball
  • Kaitlyn Landwehr - MSU Billings - Cheerleading & Stunt Team
  • Madison Miller - Salish Kootenai College - Women's Basketball
  • Lauren Rodacker – Dawson Community College - Volleyball, Track
  • Kasidy Yeoman - Montana Technological University – Basketball

For more information on these awards, visit Campus Compact Montana .

Printable PDF Version